NAFL / NASH

NAFL / NASH

NASH refers to the most advanced stage of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, involving a combination of fat accumulation, inflammation and lesions in the hepatocyte cells. In particular, these alterations can lead to cirrhosis or liver cancer.
Associated with sedentary lifestyles and poor eating habits, this epidemic has been silently spreading across developed countries.
Prevention and treatment of the risk factors are the only therapeutic solutions currently available.

 

Fatty liver diseases

Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD1) and its most advanced stage, non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH2), are consistent with an accumulation of fat of over 5% in the liver cells. Hence their name “fatty liver diseases”.
In the case of NASH, excess lipids cause inflammation and tissue lesions which can lead to fibrosis (scarring), similar to the symptoms found in alcoholic cirrhosis.

 

A threat of epidemic proportions

In correlation with the diabetes and obesity pandemic, the number of cases of NAFLD and NASH have been constantly increasing in industrialized countries. The prevalence of NAFLD is therefore predicted to be higher than 25% on a global scale (Europe and USA 24%, Asia 27-37%) and that of NASH will exceed 9% on average.
Current forecasts mainly predict growth of over 21% for NAFLD and over 63% for NASH by 2030, contributing to a 178% increase in the number of deaths linked to liver disorders.

 

Metabolic diseases linked to lifestyle

NASH mainly presents in patients who are overweight, who are suffering from type 2 diabetes, an insulin resistance or dyslipidemia.
The main risk factors are:

Overweight

25

BMI higher than 25 kg/m².

Hyperglycemia

> 6.1

> 6.1 mmol/L fasting.

Hypertriglyceridemia

> 1.7

> 1.7 mmol/L fasting.

Central adiposity

> 88 or 102

waist circumference greater than 88 cm for women and 102 cm for men.

 A low level of HDL-cholesterol

< 0.5 or 0.4

< 0.5 g/l for women and < 0.4 g/L for men.

A silently evolving disease

In general, patients with NAFLD or NASH do not present with symptoms, however some may feel fatigued or generally unwell or may experience abdominal discomfort. Over time, signs of portal hypertension and cirrhosis may appear. These symptoms signal the first clinical signs of the development of a more advanced stage of NASH: hepatic deficiency, hepatocellular decompensation or carcinoma.
NASH also contributes to the etiology of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and certain non-hepatic cancers.

 

Biological diagnosis

Often detected late due to the lack of characteristic symptoms, a NASH diagnosis relies on physical and biological examinations in the first instance, which can reveal an increase in liver volume and a rise in certain enzymatic levels (GGTs and transaminases). In suspected cases, the diagnosis can be confirmed by means of a biopsy, where the hepatic tissues can be analysed and a determination can be made as to whether it is a case of NASH or alcoholic cirrhosis.

 

Treatment: managing the causes

Preventing or slowing down the development of NASH is the best approach in order to avoid the onset of other problems. There is no direct treatment: the aim is to eliminate the potential causes and risk factors, such as overweight, diabetes and hyperlipidemia.
This objective is achieved by adopting a healthier lifestyle and improving eating habits, as well as by practising physical exercise. A medico-psychological support plan may also be prescribed in addition to pharmacological treatment, in consultation with healthcare professionals.

Notes : 1Non alcoholic fatty liver diseases, 2Non alcoholic steatohepatitis

Sources: Chris Estes, Homie Razavi, Rohit Loomba, et al. Modeling the Epidemic of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease Demonstrates an Exponential Increase in Burden of Disease. HEPATOLOGY, VOL. 67, NO. 1, 2018; Zobair M. Younossi, Aaron B. Koenig, Dinan Abdelatif, et al. Global Epidemiology of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease—Meta-Analytic Assessment of Prevalence, Incidence, and Outcomes. HEPATOLOGY, VOL. 64, NO. 1, 2016; Manuel MSD; World Gastroenterology Organisation; The NASH education program

-

NAFL / NASH

NAFL / NASH

Stade le plus avancé de la stéatose hépatique non-alcoolique, la NASH associe accumulation de graisses, inflammation et lésions au niveau des cellules hépatocytaires. Des altérations pouvant notamment conduire à une cirrhose ou un cancer du foie. Liée aux modes de vie sédentaires et aux mauvais comportements alimentaires, l’épidémie se répand silencieusement dans les pays développés. La prévention et la prise en charge des facteurs de risque sont les seules réponses thérapeutiques actuelles.

 

Maladies du foie gras

La stéatose hépatique non-alcoolique (NAFLD1) et son stade le plus avancé, la stéatohépatite non-alcoolique (NASH2) correspondent à une accumulation de graisses dans plus de 5% des cellules du foie. D’où leur surnom de « maladies du foie gras ».
Dans la NASH, l’excès de lipides entraîne une inflammation et des lésions tissulaires, qui peuvent mener à un phénomène de fibrose (cicatrices) semblable à celui rencontré dans une cirrhose alcoolique.

 

Menace épidémique

Corrélé à la pandémie de diabète et d’obésité, le nombre de cas de NAFLD et de NASH est en constante augmentation dans les pays industrialisés. La prévalence de la NAFLD serait ainsi supérieure à 25 % à l’échelle mondiale (Europe et USA 24 %, Asie 27-37 %) et celle de la NASH dépasserait en moyenne les 9 %.
Les projections anticipent surtout une croissance de + 21 % pour la NAFLD et de + 63 % pour la NASH à l’horizon 2030, participant à une augmentation de 178 % du nombre des décès liés à un trouble hépatique.

 

Pathologies métaboliques liés au mode de vie

La NASH se manifeste généralement chez des patients présentant une surcharge pondérale, un diabète de type 2, une insulinorésistance ou une dyslipidémie.

Les principaux facteurs de risque

Le surpoids

25

IMC supérieur à 25kg/m².

L'hyperglycémie

> 6,1

> 6,1 mmol/L à jeun.

L'hypertriglycéridémie

> 1,7

> 7,1 mmol/L.

L'adiposité centrale

> 88 ou 102

tour de taille supérieur à 88 cm pour les femmes et à 102 cm pour les homme.

Faible taux d'HDL-cholestérol

< 0,5 ou 0,4

< 0,5 g/L pour les femmes et < 0,4 g/L pour les hommes.

Évolution silencieuse

Les personnes atteintes de NAFLD ou de NASH ne présentent habituellement pas de symptôme, mais certains peuvent ressentir une fatigue, une sensation de malaise, ou un inconfort au niveau abdominal. Des signes d’hypertension portale et de cirrhose peuvent apparaître avec le temps. Ils représentent les premières manifestations de l’évolution de la NASH vers un stade plus avancé : insuffisance hépatique, décompensation ou carcinome hépatocellulaire.
La NASH participerait également à l’étiologie de maladies cardiovasculaires, du diabète et de certains cancers non hépatiques.

 

Diagnostic biologique

Souvent tardif, du fait de l’absence de symptôme caractéristique, le diagnostic de NASH repose dans un premier temps sur des examens physiques et biologiques révélant une augmentation du volume du foie et une élévation de certains taux enzymatiques (GGT et transaminases). En cas de suspicion, la confirmation diagnostique passe alors par une biopsie, qui permet d’analyser les tissus hépatiques et de différencier la NASH d’une cirrhose alcoolique.

 

Prise en charge : gérer les causes

Prévenir ou ralentir la NASH est la meilleure approche pour éviter l’apparition d’autres troubles. Il n’existe pas de traitement direct : le but est d’éliminer les causes potentielles et les facteurs de risque, comme le surpoids, le diabète et l’hyperlipidémie.
Un objectif qui passe par une amélioration de l’hygiène de vie et des habitudes alimentaires, ainsi que par l’exercice physique. Un accompagnement médico-psychologique de même qu’un traitement pharmacologique peuvent également être envisagés, en concertation avec les professionnels de santé.

Notes : 1Non alcoholic fatty liver disease, en anglais,  2Non alcoholic steatohepatitis, en anglais.

Sources : Chris Estes, Homie Razavi, Rohit Loomba, et al. Modeling the Epidemic of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease Demonstrates an Exponential Increase in Burden of Disease. HEPATOLOGY, VOL. 67, NO. 1, 2018, Zobair M. Younossi, Aaron B. Koenig, Dinan Abdelatif, et al. Global Epidemiology of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease—Meta-Analytic Assessment of Prevalence, Incidence, and Outcomes. HEPATOLOGY, VOL. 64, NO. 1, 2016, Manuel MSD, World Gastroenterology Organisation, The NASH education program